Governing Body

Wellington School’s Governing Body

Governors of Wellington are fully involved in the life of the School. They offer a wide variety of expertise which cover all aspects of the business world and the delivery of the curriculum. As a result, support can be assured for all staff in their work to create an excellent learning environment for the pupils. Wellington School is an Academy and therefore a registered business. In this context Governor expertise in the business world is invaluable.

The Governing Body comprises of leaders in business, accountants and parents.

Governors meet regularly as a full board, but also in committees to determine policy in personnel matters, curriculum, community and the environment and finance. In addition to supporting the initiatives of the School, Governors also question and hold to account the School Leadership. The undoubted success of Wellington School results directly from Governors determining the strategic direction of the School, with Leadership delivering the aims and objectives of the highest standard.

Parent Governors are recruited via ballot of the parent body, but others are appointed by the Governing Body. Local business people or professionals who have a strong interest in education and Wellington School in particular, should write to the Chair of Governors at School if they feel they can contribute to the further success of Wellington.

The Governing Body

Chair of Governors – Mrs Julie Lawson email:
Clerk to Governors – Mrs Caroline Wood email:
NameRoles and ResponsibilitiesDate
Appointed byCurrent term of office startsCurrent term of office endsMeetings attended in the last academic year 2022/2023
Mrs Louise BangeeTeaching and Learning Link Governor/12/06/2018GB Board / Academy Members12/06/2018
14/06/20265 out of 6
Mr Stuart BeeleyHeadteacher 01/09/2012Ex-officio as Headteacher--4 out of 6
Mr Gareth ClementsCommunity Link Governor14/08/2019GB Board14/08/2019
13/06/20275 out of 6
Dr Charles MirandaVice-Chair of Governors

Health and Safety Link Governor
18/01/2021Academy Members18/01/202117/01/20255 out of 6
Ms Julie Lawson
Chair of Governors 01/09/2021 Academy Members 01/09/202131/08/20256 out of 6
Mr Alec RispinStaff Governor01/09/2023Staff01/09/202331/08/2027N/A
Mr Karl MyersStrategy and Development Lead Governor12/06/2018Academy Members12/06/2018
14/06/20266 out of 6
Mr David WilliamsTrustee15/11/2023GB Board15/11/202314/11/2027N/A
Mrs Louise SpeedSEND Link Governor
Headteacher’s Performance Management
12/06/2018Academy Members12/06/2018
14/06/20265 out of 6
Mr Christie SpurlingSafeguarding Link Governor 23/09/2020Academy Members23/09/202022/09/20245 out of 6
Ms Alison Wright Governor 01/09/2021 Academy Members 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 6 out of 6
Mrs Georgina VinceTrustee06/11/2023Parent Election06/11/202305/11/2027N/A
Mr Ian JonesMember17/04/2024Academy Members17/04/2024PresentN/A
NameMembersAcademy MembersTerm of Office Start DateTerm of Office Finish Date
Ms Julie Lawson Member 11/11/2021 GB Board/ Academy Members 11/11/2021 Present
Mr David LindopMember07/03/2018Present
Mr Simon CarterMember01/09/2018Present
Mrs Jenny WilksMember10/09/2019 19/09/2023



Scheme of delegation 2023-24

Governor Meeting Schedule 2023-24

Governor Training 2022-23

Governor Training 2023 – 24 Coming Soon

Governors’ Committees and Remits 2023-24

Governors Register of Business Interests 2021-22

Governors Register of Business Interests 2022-23

Governors’ Business Interests 2023-24

Governor Hub